Who Cares What They Think?

photo-1422132940975-a71d3ffef351I was listening to a song this morning called “Love is my Religion” by Ziggy Marley. A line from the song struck me and made me think about how free we could all be if we did not have a concern for what others thought of us. The lyrics are as follows:

“So don’t let nobody stop us
Free spirits have to soar
With you, I share the gift
The gift that we now know”

How would you live your life if you lived without the fear of what others would think about you? Would you dance like no one was watching? Go for your dream job? Wear what made you feel beautiful?

Shortly after moving to Colorado, I can remember going to a huge outdoor party a friend of mine throws every year after. There was live music and everyone was dancing, having a great time. I will still so insecure in myself then, I stood on the sidelines watching everyone dancing and laughing. It looked like they were having so much fun, but I was so self-conscious, I didn’t dare step onto the dance floor. A year later, I had done a lot of work on myself and had a built upon my self-confidence. I didn’t stand on the sides, wanting so badly to dance, but too terrified because I didn’t want to be judged. I got out there and just DANCED!….and you know what, I had a blast, and people gravitated to me.

When we are our authentic selves, people feel pulled towards us. That is what I have experienced in all of the work I have done. What I also know though, is that not everyone gets along with everyone. There are certain people that I just do not click with, thusly, I don’t expect that everyone will like me, and that’s ok. I don’t have to be everyone’s cup of tea. As long as I know I am being true to who I am, and in that, loving myself, that is all that matters. So be you, and let your spirit soar!

Beauty and Light,
Becca

Leave a Reply

